Connect with us


National Assembly Moves To Confer Immunity On Speaker, Senate President



Members of the House of Representatives have moved closer to conferring immunity on the Speaker of the House and President of the Senate.

The bill to confer immunity on the two leaders of the legislative arm of the Nigerian government scaled second reading on Tuesday despite opposition.

This bill also seeks to confer immunity on presiding officers of the state House of Assembly to shield them from prosecution when they are occupying the office.

Despite opposition from some members, the bill sponsored by Hon. Segun Odebunmi, member representing Surulere/ Ogo Oluwa constituency, in Oyo state successfully passed through second reading on Tuesday.

Odebunmi was elected under the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), in the 2019 National Assembly election.

He was elected for the first term to represent the constituency in 2011 on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The rep member became the only PDP Reps member to win the federal constituency in the state in 2015. He defected to the APC in 2018 and secured the party’s ticket.

Hon. Odebunmi contested and won the seat according to the result announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) with 15,463 votes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © AlphaBeta Solutions Limited 2022 All rights reserved.