Connect with us


Governor Yahaya Bello Sacks 21 LGA Administrators In Kogi State



Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State has approved the dissolution of the administrative team of the 21 Local Government Areas of the State.

According to a statement by Onogwu Mohammed, Chief Press Secretary to Kogi State Governor, the order follows the constitution of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and the expiration of the tenure of the administrative team.

The Administrators and their team are to hand over the reign of power to the Directors of Local Government (DLG) in their respective Local Government Areas from 4th of March, 2020.

The dissolution of the council administrators and their team was in line with the preparations of the state government to conduct free, fair and credible elections at the local government levels soon, the statement noted on Tuesday.

The Governor appreciated them for their profound contributions to the development of their respective councils and the state at large while wishing them well in their future endeavours.

News Nigeria reports that the dissolution of the Local Government Area Administrative Team takes immediate effect.

Meanwhile, this online medium previously reported that the State High Court in Lokoja has declared the removal of Simon Achuba as the Kogi State deputy governor, by the State House of Assembly as illegal and a violation of the constitution and the subsequent nomination of Edward Onoja as the deputy governor did not follow due process.

Achuba was impeached in October 2019 by members of the Kogi State House of Assembly on three grounds: criminal indulgence, financial misappropriation, and non-performance.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © AlphaBeta Solutions Limited 2022 All rights reserved.